I can safely say that coffee is an essential part of my life. I can easily go through four cups a day without batting an eye. Coffee shops are my favourite haunts – I love the anonymity, the background hum of espresso grinding, and the bustle of customers. Studying in coffee shops always works well for me – the steady background of sounds provides white noise and the smell of fresh coffee keeps me alert. Having an easy source of caffeine doesn’t hurt either for those late-night cram sessions.

There is also something about the ritual of drinking a coffee that appeals to me. Each morning I start my day with a cup of drip with skim milk while sitting outside. My coffee rituals are sacred and treasured – they give me much needed time to myself. They also give me something to look forward to in the morning. Working as a barista over the years has also made me appreciate the wonderful craft of latte art.

I love coffee.

