When I stopped by my local art supply store yesterday, I found that they were having a sale on oil paint. Naturally, I had to pick up a package as well as some canvas. I’d been itching to get my hands painting again, so I set aside this afternoon for some quality time with my paints.

Lately I’ve been dreaming about leaf prints and Mondrian color blocking, so I wanted to find a way to combine the two. I’d never worked with oil paints before so there was definitely a learning curve involved – oils are much much richer than anything I’ve used before. Maybe the quality of the brushes I used (cheapest I could find, ha) was to blame, but I also had a hard time with precision. What I did love about oils though was that I could play around with texture and color blending so much more than with watercolors (my paints of choice).

This painting is still in progress – I’m going to let the canvas dry for a day or two before starting in on the details. Stay tuned for the final product!

