Hi bebes, guess who’s back! Almost a year later, but who’s counting right? Since my last post, I’ve: moved two times, finished a school year, gotten sick 8 times, finished an internship and gotten 2 jobs.

But what I really want to talk about right now are extremely awkward situations.

In particular because I’m in the middle of an excruciatingly awkward one right now. It’s so painful that I’m even compelled to blog about it.

Some context: I recently moved into a new apartment for the summer. I’m subletting a room with a shared living room, kitchen and bathroom with three other girls, who are all old friends. This makes the odd one out. Tonight, the new roommates have some friends over, who are all strangers to me.

Clearly, I don’t know any of these girls. Hell, I don’t even know the girls I’m living with very well. I’m not obligated to be friendly or get to know these friends of theirs.

Still, I can’t help but feel, well, lame, sitting alone in my room with the door tightly shut while listening them having a grand old time. Should I be out there trying to be friendly? Or would that be uncomfortable because I’m not friends with them?

Obviously I’m not going to start anything now, since I’ve been holed up here for the past two or three hours whilst the visit was going on. 

So. What is bothering me the most about this? I don’t think there’s anything wrong in my wanting to stay out of it. I guess what I’m most irritated by is the worry that these girls will think I’m lame. Always it comes back to this theme of worrying about what other people think! So what if they think I’m a total loser.  Right?

I’ve been in worse situations before… why do I let the little things bother me so much?

